Illinois Statute 625 ILCS 5/11-402(a) states:
The driver of any vehicle involved in a motor vehicle accident resulting only in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of such motor vehicle accident or as close thereto as possible, but shall forthwith return to and in every event shall remain at the scene of such motor vehicle accident until the requirements of Section 11-403 have been fulfilled.
The penalty for this charge of leaving the scene of an accident is a Class A Misdemeanor. The range of penalties are up to 364 days in jail, probation/conditional discharge/court supervision up to 24 months and fines up to $2,500.
In all leaving the scene of an accident cases, it is important to contact a skilled lawyer as early in the process as possible. To obtain quality legal representation in Rockford, Machesney Park, Loves Park, Winnebago County or in surrounding Illinois counties, contact attorney Marriett Legal for a free consultation. Call us at (815) 391-0089, contact us securely through the link listed below, or email our office.