Rockford Battery Lawyer
Aggravated Battery Defense Attorney Winnebago County, IL
Fight Battery and Aggravated Battery Charges
Illinois Statute 720 ILCS 5/12-3 states:
A person commits battery if he or she knowingly without legal justification by any means (1) causes bodily harm to an individual or (2) makes physical contact of an insulting or provoking nature with an individual
Battery is a Class A Misdemeanor, and the range of penalties for the charge of Battery is up to 364 days in jail; up to 24 months of court supervision, conditional discharge or probation; and fines up to $2,500. The suspect also could face various other civil consequences stemming from lawsuits by victim(s).
Aggravated battery is a more serious form of battery in Illinois, and is a felony. One of the most important elements to the definition of the crime of aggravated battery under Illinois law (720 ILCS 5/12-3.05) is the requirement for the victim to have suffered “great bodily harm.”
The difference between bodily harm and great bodily harm, however, is a matter of degree. According to Illinois law, the great bodily harm required for a charge of aggravated battery is harm that is more serious than the kind of injury that would constitute bodily harm as required for a charge of simple battery.
This act could also include the suspect’s use of a deadly weapon; wearing a mask or hood, in such a manner as to conceal their identity; and a number of other circumstances.
Aggravated Battery in Illinois:
- is a Class 3 felony if the alleged victim is not a police officer, firefighter, or correctional officer. A Class 3 felony is punishable by 1 to 3 years in the Illinois Department of Corrections; up to 30 months probation or conditional discharge; and/or fines up to $25,000.
- is a Class 2 felony if the alleged victim is a police officer, a firefighter, or correctional officer. A Class 2 felony is punishable by 2 to 5 years in the Illinois Department of Corrections; up to 48 months probation or conditional discharge and/or up to a $25,000 fine.
- is a Class 1 felony if the alleged victim is a police officer, firefighter, or correctional officer and suffers great bodily harm or permanent disfigurement. A Class 2 Felony is punishable by 2 to 5 years in the Illinois Department of Corrections; up to 48 months probation or conditional discharge; and/or up to a $25,000 fine.
Contact A Rockford Battery Defense Attorney For Help
Rockford criminal defense lawyer Paul M. Marriett has handled thousands of criminal defense law cases. We defend the accused against all types of battery accusations and charges – experience and results matter – call TODAY for help and a FREE CONSULTATION! The Law Office of Paul M. Marriett can help you face such charges in northern Illinois. To obtain quality legal representation in Rockford, Machesney Park, Loves Park, Winnebago County or the surrounding communities, contact attorney the Law Office of Paul M. Marriett for a free consultation at (815) 391-0089 or by email here.