If you are pulled over by a police officer and given a ticket for driving without a valid license, you are facing a serious charge. As defined by Illinois law, getting a ticket for having no valid driver’s license is the same as getting arrested.
No person, except those expressly exempted by Section 6-102, shall drive any motor vehicle upon a highway in this State unless such person has a valid license or permit, or a restricted driving permit, issued under the provisions of this Act.
Driving without a valid license in Illinois can be one of three scenarios. You’re stopped for an offense and:
- You have a license but it’s not in your possession. This is an infraction that may be dismissed once you prove that you possessed a valid license at the time of the incident, but you may still have to pay a fine.
- You never applied for a license to drive, or your license expired. Depending on the circumstances, you may be charged with a petty offense or a Class B Misdemeanor. The range of penalties is up to six months in jail, 24 months probation, conditional discharge or court supervision and/or fines up to $1,500
- Your license was revoked or suspended by the Secretary of State. This offense is usually punishable as a Class A misdemeanor, but you may be charged with a felony if you were arrested for a DUI and your license had been suspended for a DUI.
Once the State alleges that you drove with no valid driver’s license, the burden of proof is on you to prove that you did possess a valid license at the time of your offense. That’s why it is critically important to contact a skilled lawyer as early in the process as possible to ensure the best possible outcome.
For quality legal representation in Rockford, Machesney Park, Loves Park, or Illinois counties near Winnebago County, contact the Law Office of Paul M. Marriett for a free consultation. Call us at (815) 391-0089, contact us securely through the form on this page, or email our office.