Illinois Statute 625 ILCS 5/11-503 states:
A person commits reckless driving if he or she:
- Drives any vehicle with a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property; or
- Knowingly drives a vehicle and uses an incline in a road way, such as a railroad crossing, bridge approach, or hill, to cause the vehicle to become airborne.
The penalty for reckless driving in Illinois is a Class A Misdemeanor. The possible penalty is up to 364 days in jail, court supervision/conditional discharge/or 24 months probation, and fines up to $2,500. Additionally if you receive a conviction of reckless driving, your driver's license can be suspended or revoked depending on your driving record.
In all cases involving reckless driving, it is important to contact a skilled lawyer as early in the process as possible to ensure the best possible outcome. To obtain quality legal representation in Rockford, Machesney Park, Loves Park, Winnebago County or surrounding Illinois counties and communities, contact attorney Marriett Legal for a free consultation. Marriett Legal can be reached by phone at (815) 391-0089, securely through the link listed below, or by email here.